0
Completed

Ability to assign instructor in the "By Course" Teaching Preferences view

anonymous 5 years ago updated 5 years ago 2

It's nice that one can assign instructors in the Teaching Preference "By Instructor" view but the same functionality should be available in the "By Course" view as well.

Answer

Answer
Completed

We have added the ability to assign an instructor in the By Course view. We have also gone ahead and added the ability to delete an instructor's preferences as per more recent conversations. This puts the Teaching Assignments page in a very functional, not archival, light, so any user needs to be careful that they only delete a preference which is truly not needed.


Leaving a preference unapproved is a good way to remember an instructor asked for that course and is available should they be needed as a backup.

I think we all need to take some time to think about these two views as we work on our Teaching Assignments right now. Questions we are asking ourselves: Do we want to 'capture' what the faculty teaching preferences were at one point. As we go in and add courses or we want the ability to delete courses, you loose the original 'Teaching Preference' that the instructor submits. Related to this particular comment, I think we need the ability to add an instructor to a course they didn't originally sign up for. In this situation, right now, we are going to the 'Instructor' screen and then adding the course there. Then on the 'course' screen we can select them. However, in doing this, we just lost the 'original' version of the instructor's teaching preferences. Maybe that's fine. Maybe not?? I should add that I'm assuming in this situation, the two 'views' will continue to remain tied in that as you input in one view it updates the other view as well.

Answer
Completed

We have added the ability to assign an instructor in the By Course view. We have also gone ahead and added the ability to delete an instructor's preferences as per more recent conversations. This puts the Teaching Assignments page in a very functional, not archival, light, so any user needs to be careful that they only delete a preference which is truly not needed.


Leaving a preference unapproved is a good way to remember an instructor asked for that course and is available should they be needed as a backup.